Edge of Everywhere

Where is Neutral?

Posted on: July 9, 2010

I still think about asexuality all the time, even though I rarely find the time to write about it. Something I think about a lot is how to express my asexual identity, especially among people I’m not out to. I sometimes do this by making clear my disinterest in all things sex-related whenever possible. The problem with this strategy, though, is that it just seems to end up reinforcing the same stereotypes that followed me when I was younger: the innocent, sheltered little girl, and the prude. I know I am neither of those things, but in certain conversations, I feel like I have two options: say the thing that makes me blend in, which feels like lying, or say the thing that shows I am different. All I want is to be seen as neutral in regard to sex, but most people only seem to see two sides: “normal” and “not normal,” with the latter needing to be explained by immaturity and/or some other kind of “issues.” What I’m trying to figure out is, how do I express myself as neutral when neutral isn’t something that most people think exists when it comes to sex?

1 Response to "Where is Neutral?"

I GUESS MY THOUGHTS ON THIS IS MORE TO THE AFFECT THAT I WOULD RATHER TALK ABOUT THIS OR THAT, ART OR POETRY OR THE IDEA OF LIQUID WATER ON MARS THAN SEX… BE IT NORMAL OR NOT NORMAL… SO I WOULD RATHER IT NOT BE PART OF MY CONVERSATION EVER LIKE IT DOESNT EXIST IN MY WORLD. I’M NOT FOR IT OR AGAINST IT, IT DOESNT EXIST IN MY MIND, I DONT THINK ABOUT HOW NOT TO THINK ABOUT IT I JUST DON’T.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

