Edge of Everywhere

What would the popular kids say now?

Posted on: September 21, 2008

In high school, I had a reputation for being “innocent.” The fact that my emotional maturity level was higher than that of most of my peers was irrelevant; by failing to be interested in getting drunk and hooking up with guys, the reasoning went, I was still a child.

Well, several years have passed and, although this word means nothing to me personally, I am still a virgin. I can’t help but wonder, what would my classmates have to say about that? Could they really claim that even though all these years have passed, I never really grew up? It would obviously be ridiculous for them to do so outright, but that doesn’t change the fact that it’s really difficult for a lot of people to get their heads around the idea of anyone permanently sidestepping certain milestones.

It’s strange to think that by this logic, I remain somehow behind my peers, even the oafish frat boys still living with their parents, and that for the rest of my life I will lag behind as the world waits for me to catch up and start getting something I’ll never want.

2 Responses to "What would the popular kids say now?"

i can relate to your post, i was a virgin for a long time and still don’t drink, it kinda leaves you feeling out of the loop

http://www.queersunited.blogspot.com

Yep- same here. I don’t care if people do see me as “innocent” or still a child- obviously, if I cared that much, I’d have caved in to peer pressure by now- and been utterly miserable doing it! Still… it’s good to know I’m not the only one. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

