Edge of Everywhere

Isn’t it Bromantic?

Posted on: October 20, 2008

I’ve been a big fan of the TV show House since its first season, and I’ve always appreciated the fact that it doesn’t revolve around soap opera-esque relationships between the doctors the way Grey’s Anatomy does (although I eventually got hooked on that show as well). The most interesting relationship on the show has always been the one between the brilliant but misanthropic Dr. House and his best (and only) friend, the caring yet sarcastic oncologist Dr. Wilson. The end of last season left a giant question mark over the friendship in the wake of Wilson’s girlfriend’s death, which may have been House’s fault. The fate of the doctors’ relationship is a major storyline of the current season, and the subject of a recent TV Guide cover story featuring the two actors, Hugh Laurie and Robert Sean Leonard, entitled “Isn’t it Bromantic?”

The word “bromance” has been floating around a lot lately. According to UrbanDictionary, the word “describes the complicated love and affection shared by two straight males.” I think it’s great that both House and the newfound prevalance of this word acknowledge the fact that straight male friendships are subject to many of the same ups and downs as romantic and sexual relationships, and can be equally or more important to men.

3 Responses to "Isn’t it Bromantic?"

I love House too (unfortunately, here in France we are still waiting for the fourth season) and my favorite aspect of the show is the relationship between House and Wilson. I like that this non-romantic and non-sexual relationship appears to be the most stable relationship in both men’s lives, because usually movies and shows seem to value romantic relationships more (either because they focus on the characters’ romantic lives, or because finding a romantic partner seems to be the characters’ goal). And yet, this relationship has its ups and downs, so it is not an ideal friendship like 19th-century novels described sometimes, but rather, well, something that could really happen between two people.

Ahh, you beat me to it. I was totally going to reference that article, whenever I got around to it… However, someone has been monopolizing all of my time lately, so I have barely even been keeping up with House. I “ship” House & Wilson, if you can call it shipping–I love the relationship they have, but I cannot see it as sexual in any way, shape, or form. I have trouble seeing how people can read it that way, given that both House and Wilson are both quite decidedly straight (although of course they act like a couple sometimes, but that has nothing to do with sexuality). I guess people connect such intense relationships with sexuality, but that’s a false conclusion, because I know from personal experiences that intense feelings for another person are not always accompanied by sexual desire. I see their relationship as a good example of just how deep a non-sexual relationship can get.

I’m a HUGE House fan too. Tonight’s episode is a bit disappointing though – (but I won’t spoil it, for those who haven’t watched yet).

I only wish they’d do the same with female characters… ::sigh::

Leave a Reply

