Edge of Everywhere

All Mine

Posted on: November 26, 2008

Lately, I’ve been really fascinated by my body. In the past, I didn’t give it much thought aside from the usual anxieties about my weight and appearance, but now I check myself out in the mirror all the time when I’m getting dressed and think about how interesting it is that my body doesn’t exist for anyone else’s pleasure. When I look great, it makes me feel empowered, like a hot but untouchable superhero. And when I’m feeling unattractive, I can reassure myself that at least I don’t have to worry about how another person will view and judge my body. It’s all mine, and I like that.

3 Responses to "All Mine"

“When I look great, it makes me feel empowered, like a hot but untouchable superhero.”

I nice suit and hat (fedora or derby) make me feel the same way

Yeah, I wish everyone could feel like their body was free from judgment– or, more realistically, acknowledge the judgment but just not care. I think not feeling pressured to be sexually desirable makes me more accepting of the way I look. But, even if you do want to be sexy, the definition is way too narrow! It’s a state of mind, I’d say.

I agree, it is a state of mind.

Leave a Reply

